Product Review: Ruffwear K9 Float Coat

 

 

 

 

 

 

Merle going for a swim!

My husband and I do a lot of traveling with our dogs, especially to see family. The beauty of my parents house in Arizona, aside from the fact that my family lives there (of course) is that they have a fantastic pool with scenic view of the mountains. The pool comes in mighty handy on a hot Arizona summer day. This recent warm weather in California reminded me of the last time my husband and I made a trek out to visit my family in Arizona (and their pool) and how much our dogs loved getting in the water. While our oldest ridgie, Kaya, is a fantastic swimmer, Merle, our youngest, is not.  Kaya gracefully slides into the water like a fish, Merle on the other hand enters the pool more cannonball style.

So this past trip we brought with us the Ruffwear K9 Float Coat (see the coat here on their site), that my husband had bought for Kaya for a previous river tubing trip. Without the float coat Merle was hesitant to get in the water, but once I put it on him it was like he was a different dog completely! We couldn’t get him out of the water! At one point he even started chasing my husband around the pool, it was ridiculous. So I am recommending this life jacket based on great experience with it.  Ruffwear has lot of pretty cool products for dogs like ours who are big and active, so I will put the link to their site on my list of products for big dogs. Kaya has one of their doggie backpacks as well, you can see it here. The life jacket definitely gave Merle a much needed boost of confidence and I will certainly bring it with us the next time we head out to visit the family for a swim.

Leave a Reply

